littlemissmandu

The story so far…

Leave a comment

So I’ve just hit the halfway point of my degree and, though I’m far from finished, I’m already starting to think about what I want to do when I grow up. (What a magical notion!) The second half of the second year has just started and I’ve already signed up to run mini-Shakespearean fun for the Rose Theatre during one of their Culture Cafés in March.

To follow that up, I’m trying to organise a production for the same month with the Theatre Uncut programme. Using new short plays by David Greig, Lucy Kirkwood, Dennis Kelly, Laura Lomas, Anders Lustgarten, Mark Ravenhill, Jack Thorne and Clara Brennan, these plays have be written in response to the countrywide spending cuts.

And over the summer I shall be looking to edit a text so that I can run a full production of Shakespeare using cue script only. For that I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled for some brave, ney fearless!, students.

As it happens, I am petrified and excited in equal measure. I know that’s a good sign. I know I’m on the right track.

Alongside this I’m putting together a production company with my friend and once we’ve worked out the basics we’ll start looking to build a team and get work where we can. (I’ll keep you posted.)

Now I’ve got to get a wriggle on. I have to crack on with writing a short radio play without using any words… Hmm. Not so easy so far. If it works out though I’ll see if I can record it and put it online at a later stage.

Author: littlemissmandu

Polymath. Writer. Square Eyes. Geek. Eurasian Daisy Steiner. Best Cheerleader '93.

Leave a Reply

