littlemissmandu

All Quiet on the Western Front

1 Comment

And I’d like to apologise for that. I’ve been stupendously busy recently, preparing for an event for on Saturday 19th March in Kingston-Upon-Thames.

At the beginning of the year, one of my tutors sent through and email advising that  a group of playwrights had written plays in response to the drastic cuts being made to public spending outlined by the coalition in October. Marking a point in history that will affect the welfare state, higher education and the arts – my home – all at once, there have been many protests and debates around these cuts, cuts that I feel strongly about. (Before I go any further, I would like to state that there are a few subjects I care not to talk about in detail. One of these is politics. D’oh!)

Theatre Uncut’s flagship event will be showing at the Southwark Playhouse Vaults, London, 16-19 March 2011. However 19th March will see drama groups across the country staging their own events in a ‘national theatrical uprising’. We’ve been privileged enough to get our hands on texts by Dennis Kelly, Lucy Kirkwood, Laura Lomas, David Greig, Anders Lustgarten (based on a conversation between Simon Stephens and Anders Lustgarten), Mark Ravenhill, Jack Thorne and Reclaim’s writer in residence, Clara Brennan and tutor extraordinaire.

Each of these wonderful playwrights have agreed to donate their work rights free for the duration of the event.

In London, performances will be directed by, Mark Ravenhill , Lucy Morrison and Katie McAleese alongside Hannah Price, Artistic Director of Reclaim Productions, who are staging the event in association with Meeting Point Productions with support from Southwark Playhouse.

I have snowed under producing an afternoon of some of these plays in Kingston. The event is free to encourage audiences to come along and think about what the budget cuts mean for us and who they are affecting.

We will find out if we’ve succeeded on Saturday. If you could make it, it’d be great to meet you and get your feedback. I’m still learning – I’ll admit that – but I like getting feedback on stuff that I’m doing.

Donations will go to the charity Child Poverty Action Group, who advocate child benefit for the lowest income families, tax credits and benefits for those who need them, and have pledged, along with the government, to eradicate child poverty in the UK by 2020.

Author: littlemissmandu

Polymath. Writer. Square Eyes. Geek. Eurasian Daisy Steiner. Best Cheerleader '93.

One thought on “All Quiet on the Western Front

  1. Today I went to the Crucible Theatre here in Sheffield.
    I am the 72 year old mother of a son who has had mental problems but is now recovering. I was blown away by the quality of the 8 plays I saw for the theatreuncut. The play Fragile resonated particularly well with me and I am pleased to say that Open Heart Surgery was one of the 8 I saw. I am so glad that so many people feel so strongly about the unjust cuts this Coalition is making to so many institutions. If we can open enough people’s eyes to what is happening and show that it is so unnecessary we might just get enough support to do something about it!

    Thank you Mark for getting the ball rolling.

    Valerie
    PS I also support along with David my son the Taxuncuts movement.

Leave a Reply

