littlemissmandu

Word wright/Square Eyes/Procrastinator/Geek. Dudette at Reflector Films. 'Best Cheerleader' 1992. Eurasian Daisy Steiner.

"Patience, my young Padawan"

On the 7th day of December, my blog post said to you…

Leave a comment

Check your head…

This time last year, I was struggling with assessments during the final year of my degree, thinking how I couldn’t wait to be “out there” (whatever that meant). A year later I am (almost) wishing I was back there. I’ve heard from a few people who have graduated that the first year is a tricky time indeed. “You just need to get past it”, “it’ll be okay, you’ve just got to find your way”. This coupled with the fact that it is the Year of the Dragon* has given me a rollercoaster of a year so far.

Downs have been a plenty but ups have been too. I’ve had the good fortune to meet and build relationships with lots of amazing people, some of who happen to share my passion for theatre. But I’m still struggling with which direction I’m heading and which direction to take.

 "Patience, my young Padawan"

During the week I told my friend I had an idea that I’m writing that I wanted to film. Not impossible, however they suggested that I direct the short. “How?” I asked. Personally, I don’t think I’m cut out to be a director. That said, if you’d asked me last year if I thought of myself as a writer, I would have told you the same thing. See? Dragon Curveball Z strikes again!

So how does one navigate their way, learn their strengths and weaknesses? I’m still trying to work mine out and, although I don’t want to shut down avenues before I’ve even started, I’m also a firm believer in not spreading yourself like “butter scraped over too much bread”. (Boom! LOTR’s quote! *pats self on the back*) Perhaps I should try and see which disciplines naturally fall be the wayside but can you be good at multiple things or has that old adage “Jack of all trades, master of none” survived because it’s true? If you spread yourself across too many disciplines diluting your ability? Can some master many? (Greedy, selfish, skillful people!) or does being good at one or two things lead to excellence?

What say you?

*Technically a great year, but the Dragon makes you work your arse off for it. And at a price. Unless you're a Dragon!
Leave a Reply

