littlemissmandu

Word wright/Square Eyes/Procrastinator/Geek. Dudette at Reflector Films. 'Best Cheerleader' 1992. Eurasian Daisy Steiner.

Great advice from Dennis Kelly, via @ideastap

Leave a comment

Wandering around the Ideastap site, I found this interview. As a late comer to writing, I found his words immensely comforting and excellent advice for someone about to do battle with two dreaded-second drafts and one monologue short.

And how did you get started as a playwright?

I just decided to write a play – I think it was so that I could give myself a part! I imagined that I was going to become an actor, but preferred writing. I was doing a full-time job, so it was difficult: you don’t realise that it’s possible to make a career out of writing when you’re 29 with no qualifications. At about 30 I went to Goldsmiths and did a Drama BA. What was great about it was having three years to think about nothing but theatre. When I graduated I started taking writing very seriously…

read more here: Dennis Kelly: Writing Matilda.

Catch his latest piece of writing, Utopia, on Tuesday at 10pm, Channel 4.

Leave a Reply

