littlemissmandu

Word wright/Square Eyes/Procrastinator/Geek. Dudette at Reflector Films. 'Best Cheerleader' 1992. Eurasian Daisy Steiner.

Why I love Amanda Fucking Palmer, @amandapalmer (And why you might want to too)

Leave a comment

Amanda Fucking Palmer (AFP) has been on my radar for a long time now. I’ve loved her music for a long time now.

(Before I was a writer, I was a writer. Of songs instead of scripts. Kate and I would sit in our bedrooms playing geetars, writing songs. When we growed up, we gigged in pubs and didn’t make much money but we had a cracking time singing, playing music and entertaining our friends. See? How much fun are we having here?)

But my adoration of AFP goes beyond her music and extends into the way she lives her life. She recently gave a TED talk which I recommend you watch. It’s 12 minutes, it’s on the art of asking but it’s much much more than than and well worth watching. Go on, give it a whirl now.

There, I hope you learnt something. And maybe it’ll change the way you look at a situation. It’s not about “getting a job”, it’s about asking.

Here’s her kickstarter page. I reckon you should watch that video too. Wow, just wow.

As Jack Lemmon said “send the elevator back down”. This isn’t just about AFP, it’s about all her artist friends and supporters, who adore her too. With an average donation of $47.93, she smacked the ass off her target. But it was her attitude that encouraged people to support her, not feel that they had to pay.

Amanda Palmer is a passionate and amazing woman. (Her husband ain’t half bad neither but this isn’t about him.) She is an inspiration and I just had to share this with you because it made me laugh, it made me smile and it gave just what I needed: a kick up the bum.

I will leave you with the Ukelele Anthem by Amanda Palmer:

You want more? Of course you do…

Here’s her website: http://amandapalmer.net

Here’s her blog on the TED talk.

Here’s the bandcamp page to the Dresden Dolls

Leave a Reply

